• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Basic Guide to PGP On MAC

tungfa

Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Basic Guide to PGP On MAC

http://www.deepdotweb.com/2015/02/2...&utm_campaign=Feed:+DeepDotWeb+(Deep+Dot+Web)

Full credit goes to MLP_is_my_OPSEC for writing this tutorial – Thanks for publishing and giving your permission to repost!

Part 0 – Introduction

Here’s my basic guide for PGP on OS X. The OS in question is OS X 10.9 Mavericks, but it should still work for other versions. As for the tool itself, we’ll be using GPG Suite Beta 5. This is my first time using OS X in… years. If you see anything I’m doing wrong, or could be done easier, feel free to correct me in the comments.

If you’ve done your research, you’ll see it’s not recommended to do anything darknet related on OS X, but I’m not going to go over the details here. You’ve obviously made your decision.

Part 1 – Installing the software

Like I said above, we’ll be using GPG Suite Beta 5. If you’re curious and want to see the source code, you can do so here.

1. Head on over to https://gpgtools.org, and download ‘GPG Suite Beta 5′
  2. Open the file you downloaded, you should see this screen. Double click on ‘Install’
  3. Follow the installation process. If successful, you should see this screen. You can now close the window
Part 2 – Creating your keypair

GPG Suite actually makes this a super simple process. Just like the Linux guide, we’ll be using 4096 bit length for encryption.

1. Open up GPG Keychain, you should be greeted by this beautiful window
  2. Click ‘New’ at the top left of the window