• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Compiling the source in Visual Studio

Travis9x

I searched and didn't find any threads already related to this, so I apologize if it has indeed already been discussed elsewhere.
I am a student of IT and computer technology in general, and years ago took some courses in C/C++, and would like to get back into coding & such. I just recently got my hands on the full Microsoft Visual Studio Pro 2013 suite, and I would like to start by compiling some open-source projects that I'm familiar with. I love cryptocurrency, and am a big fan of Darkcoin especially.
So I would like to know how I might begin with compiling the latest Darkcoin release code, with Visual Studio. I downloaded the code, but from what I've read so far Darkcoin Qt was built on a Linux platform, and was cross-built for Windows from that same platform. I'm not even sure what language it is written in. In short, I'm kinda lost, and need some help. If someone could at least point me in the right direction, that would be a big help, and if someone could walk me through it, that would be very much appreciated!
With time, I hope to become good enough that I may even be able to provide valuable contribution to the community. Thanks in advance!
- Travis

Welcome to the forum :)

So I would like to know how I might begin with compiling the latest Darkcoin release code, with Visual Studio. I downloaded the code, but from what I've read so far Darkcoin Qt was built on a Linux platform, and was cross-built for Windows from that same platform.

This is correct, currently we are cross compiling Darkcoin for Windows and Mac OSX on Linux, using mingw-win32 and clang compiler toolchains.

I'm not even sure what language it is written in. In short, I'm kinda lost, and need some help.

Darkcoin, as all Bitcoin/Litecoin clones, is written in C++/C, using Qt application framework for the GUI.